Skip to content ↓

Care & Support

JOGCare is an area on our website that ‘sign-posts’ you to other websites that can offer guidance on a range of issues that some young people might face. You might be able to help yourself by going to a website dedicated to a particular issue, or you may find it helpful to speak to or email a member of the school’s dedicated pastoral team:

Senior Lead: Helen Kerr, Assistant Head Teacher email: hkerr@jogschool.org

Pastoral Manager: Sarah Hill email: sjhill@jogschool.org

Assistant Pastoral Support Managers:

Sarah Stewart: Email sstewart@jogschool.org

Katie Galbraith: Email kgalibraith@jogschool.org

Jill Taylor: Email jtaylor@jogschool.org

Sixth form:

Zoe Lewis Email zlewis@jogschool.org

Assistant Pastoral Support manager for Health and Well Being:

Roz Hanson email: rhanson@jogschool.org

A warning – friends are great to have, but very often an adult viewpoint can help you to see that what you thought was a ‘mountain’ is actually a ‘molehill’. If it really is a ‘mountain’ then we need to know.

We want you to be happy, we want you to be safe, and we want you to achieve more than you ever thought possible.

The JoG Cares curriculum places emphasis on each student as an individual.

Links that can support our students include:

Action for Happiness: https://actionforhappiness.org/

A movement of people committed to building a happier and more caring society. They want to see a fundamentally different way of life - where people care less about what they can get just for themselves and more about the happiness of others.

Boloh, https://helpline.barnardos.org.uk/ Tel: 0800 151 2605 a telephone line and online support service from Barnardo’s for students from Black, Asian and other students from diverse ethnic backgrounds, including asylum seekers

Chat Health: https://wiltshirechildrensservices.co.uk/our-services/school-nursing/chathealth/

ChatHealth is a safe and secure way for young people aged 11-16 to get advice and support about health related issues, directly from the school nurse. Use this to text the school nurses directly with your health queries.

Coping with Exam Stress, Young Minds: https://www.youngminds.org.uk/young-person/coping-with-life/exam-stress/

Tips and guidance on how you can take the 'stress' out of 'exam stress'.

Managing Anxiety: https://www.childline.org.uk/info-advice/your-feelings/anxiety-stress-panic/anxiety/

An online resource from ChildLine. Understanding anxiety, how to spot the signs, tips for parents/young people and how to find more help. Child line also have a free telephone line you can call: 0800 1111

Knife Crime – Advice from Wiltshire Police  https://www.wiltshire.police.uk/police-forces/wiltshire-police/areas/campaigns/campaigns/offensive-weapons/

Tackling knife crime is a priority for police in the UK. Improve your understanding and learn how you can help yourself, your friends or family, with useful advice and information

Healthy Schools Wiltshire  https://www.wiltshirehealthyschools.org/

A collection of links and resources, which can help to support mental health, resilience, emotional health and wellbeing. Click on ‘Partnership’ option for a range of support on different topics.

National Online Safety: https://nationalonlinesafety.com/

National Online Safety (NOS) regularly create and share useful online safety guides for parents/carers, as part of their #WakeUpWednesday campaign.

Motiv8: https://www.dhi-online.org.uk/get-help/young-peoples-drug-alcohol-services/motiv8

Motiv8 is a substance misuse service for young people aged 11-18 in Wiltshire.

We provide advice, guidance and one-to-one sessions for young people who are having problems with drugs and/or alcohol. The service is free and confidential, and we aim to provide a flexible and non-judgemental space for young people to be open about the problems they are facing.

GamCare https://www.gamcare.org.uk/get-support/young-peoples-support-service/

GamCare provides support to young people who is either at risk pf pr experiencing harms because of gambling, it can be themselves or someone else’s gambling they need support for.

StaySafe.org: https://staysafe.org/teens/

Stay safe have a section specifically for teenagers who need support and advice on how to stay safe online

​​Mental health: Young Minds https://www.youngminds.org.uk/

Young mind is a mental health charity that has a useful website to you understand mental health issues.

​The Children’s society https://www.childrenssociety.org.uk/information/young-people/well-being/resources

The children’s society have a great A- Z of mental health and wellbeing resources

Get in Touch with JOGCare